Packaging for «Alter Brauch»: malt, hop, folklore and a bit of Germany

Challenges:

  • market research;
  • positioning development;
  • naming development and name registration;
  • package design development;
  • prepress.

The client:
«Stary Zavod» LLC.

«Staryi Zavod» (Old Factory) brewery launched a sort of natural beer made from the best European recipes according «Purity requirement», which says that only 4 ingredients – water, malt, yeast and hop – should be used in beer production.
The enterprise itself is in close proximity to «Brykin Bor», Europe's largest biosphere national park. This land is full of old legends and fairy tales.
Beer is a product with centuries-old history. Folks in every edge of the world have their own traditions and rituals of beer production and consumption. While developing a brand Pavlov's Design put a focus on naturalness of the product itself, as well as on the tradition recipes used in its production. Hence the name was born: «Alter Brauch» (translated from German – an ancient custom).
An old beautiful legend about a fern flower was put in basis of the brand name and logo. All these ideas were realized in packaging: kraft paper, logo and a Gothic style sign. These elements of identity make the product noticeable on the shelf and involuntarily transfer us to relict and a bit fairy-tale places.

The project team

Oleg Pavlov, Elena Pavlova

strategy

Oleg Pavlov

leading designer

Anastasiya Tarasova

designer

Irina Maksimova

technical design, typography layout, pre-press

Andrey Aleykin

project executive manager

Упаковка для «Alter Brauch»: солод, хмель, фольклор и немного Германии

Задачи:

  • исследование рынка;
  • определение позиционирование продукта;
  • нейминг с получением патента на название «Alter Brauch»;
  • разработка дизайна упаковки;
  • препресс.

Клиент

ООО «Старый завод».

Пивоварня «Старый завод» запускала натуральное пиво, сваренное по лучшим европейским рецептам, отвечающим «Требованию о чистоте», согласно которому, для производства пива должны использоваться только четыре ингредиента: вода, солод, дрожжи и хмель.
Само предприятие находится в непосредственной близости от крупнейшего в Европе биосферного заповедника «Брыкин Бор», на земле, полной старинных преданий и легенд.
Пиво – продукт с многовековой историей. В каждом уголке мира свои традиции и ритуалы потребления этого напитка. При разработке нейма и дизайна бренда Pavlov’s Design сделали акцент на натуральности самого продукта, а также на традиционности использующихся при производстве рецептур. Отсюда и родилось название: «Alter Brauch» (с нем. – старинный обычай).
Старая красивая легенда о цветке папоротника легла в основу фирменного знака бренда. Все эти идеи были реализованы и на упаковке: крафтовая бумага, логотип и знак, выполненные в готическом стиле, максимально выделяют продукт на полке и невольно переносят нас в реликтовые и немного сказочные места.

Над проектом работали

Олег Павлов, Елена Павлова

стратегия

Олег Павлов

ведущий дизайнер

Анастасия Тарасова

дизайнер

Ирина Максимова

технический дизайн, препресс

Андрей Алейкин

руководитель проекта